Ricoh XR-X

SDIM1124-HDR-Edit

I did it again, bought another film camera. This time it’s a Ricoh XR-X, it came with a Rikenon 35-70mm zoom, a Mitakon 24mm f2.5, a Mitakon 80-200mm zoom, a nice bag and a really good cable release which doesn’t actually work with this camera. All for £14.00p ($20.00) + p&p. Loaded it with a roll of Agfa Vista 200asa and went walkabout. It’s a heavy camera considering the case is plastic, I’m guessing that there must be some metal inside, not to mention the 4AA batteries that power it.

Brutal (back of the courthouse)
Brutal XR-X
Mitakon 24mm f2.5

I found the Mitakon 24mm to be very prone to flare, reducing image contrast. So I sent off for a wide angle lens hood for £2.35p ($3.33) inc postage, it’s really nicely made out of alloy. Will try another roll through it and see if it improves the contrast. I guess I have been spoilt by my lovely Zuiko 24mm 2.8, one of the best lenses I have.

5 thoughts on “Ricoh XR-X

Leave a Reply

