Friday trip to town

23-09-2016

Actually took the bus to town this time so I could walk out to an area I haven’t visited for years, Leicester’s Abbey Park.

Bat Brolly 
sdim2186_7_8-edit
Well it looked bat like to me.

Abbey of St Mary of the Meadows
sdim2210_1_2-edit
According to the information board the Abbey was founded in about 1143 and closed in 1538 by Henry v111 (who else !) so it lasted for nearly 400 years.

The Abbey Church ruins
sdim2213_4_5-edit

The Gate House
sdim2204_5_6-edit-edit

I then got besotted with a modernish door I found just behind the Gate House !
sdim2228_29_30-edit-editsdim2235-edit-editsdim2234-edit-edit

I also took along a film camera with me, hopefully should have processed the film by tomorrow (Sunday).

14 thoughts on “Friday trip to town

      1. conspicari Post author

        I haven’t been to Leeds for ages, I still have some relatives there. The first thing I remember about Leeds was visiting my Gran and the wonderful Yorkshire puddings she made, even the budgie had some ! :>)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

