Thursday Doors

09-02-2017

Been trying (with limited success) to get some door theme’s together for future “Thursday Doors” postings over at the Norm 2.0  blog, do go and check it out. It’s been difficult to get any decent images because the weather has been dull and grey in my part of the UK.

Have You Made Your Peace it says on one of the signs
sdim0630_1_2-edit-edit
Fortunately Monday of this week was bright and sunny and I managed to get this unusual one on a visit to the area I grew up in. Then I filled up my memory card and had forgotten to put a spare in the bag.

Great Live Music Pub
sdim0621_2_3-edit-edit
It’s been a while since I’ve been to this pub, they have great music nights and excellent beer. Getting there is no problem, it’s getting back that’s difficult !

Before
sdim1388_89_90-edit-edit

After
image4-edit-a-grand-entrance
This is a lovely old bank building in the centre of Leicester and it has recently been restored and turned into a steak house.

Seventh Day Adventist Church
sdim0529_hdr-edit-gothic-revival-victorian-doors-of-seventh-day-adventist-church-on-london-road

sdim0527-edit-edit1sdim0532_hdr-edit
Great carvings either side of the door.

22 thoughts on “Thursday Doors

  1. ianbcross

    Great shots here. I like the SDA church where all the architectural features point upwards to heaven.
    Sometimes dull grey skies allow you to take photos at midday without having to deal with shadows.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Alexandra

    lol about getting back from the pub 😛
    gorgeous selection again, conspicari 🙂 love the before (in the before and after pair), what is it about old stuff that is so fascinatiing, right? 🙂 hope you get some sun over the weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. conspicari Post author

      Hello Alexandra, thank you. Yes I like the old stuff, I think it has more character and individuality (like me lol) It’s trying to snow here at the moment, and rain is forecast for the weekend :>( but better weather next week. I think I’m going to see a friends band tonight in the town, hope I make it home :>)

      Like

      Reply
  3. jesh stg

    Love these old doors – they have so much character, and are each so different! My goodness if you call this “limited success” I have none at all:):) In my case, because I would have to travel at least 4 hrs. to see one like the older ones.
    Wishing you a mild weather weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. sustainabilitea

    You got quite a variety of doors here, Ian. A good beer, dark for preference for me, is always a good thing to find on the other side of a door. I love the Seventh Day Adventist Church and the upward flow of the design.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

