Cosmic

Well my Cosmic 35 film camera.

SDIM0587-Edit
I persuaded my parents to buy me one of these in 1966 as I was going on a school trip to Germany, Denmark, and Sweden, my first visit abroad, and my first holiday without my family. I hadn’t got much of a clue how to set the correct exposure, and soon realised that I needed an exposure meter. So I bought a little Stitz meter that slipped on the flash shoe. The camera lasted about 3 years until the shutter gave up the ghost. The one in the picture above I bought a couple of years ago for very little money, half expecting the shutter to be faulty and the take-up spool missing, but the shutter is fine, the take-up spool is present, and the viewfinder and lens are really clean.

These were taken on that school trip using Gratispool slide film, you bought the film which included processing and mounting, sent the exposed film off, and got another film back with your slides.


So last week I loaded up the Cosmic with some Kodacolor 200 that had expired in 2001 and met my buddies for a photowalk.

Considering the age of the film, and that I’d forgotten to bring my exposure meter, I don’t think they came out too bad. One of the foibles of the camera is you have to cock the shutter with a little lever on the side of the lens, and it’s very easy (for me anyway) to catch the lever with a finger slowing the shutter when the shutter button is pressed. The pale blue shot of the underpass is an example. 

5 thoughts on “Cosmic

Leave a Reply

